Implementing new render pass questions

Hi all,

I am hoping that some members of the community have some suggestions to help me get a new render pass implemented. I’m new to Unreal, but have many years of experience as a rendering engineer working on bespoke engines. I’ve been able find a number of resources online which touch on some important points, however I’m finding it very slow to understand how all the pieces holistically actually fit together.

I’m attempting to implement a new render pass which precedes the base pass that does a visibility buffer style render technique and can blend multiple materials together into the GBuffer. At this stage I’m just trying to get a prototype put together for the standard main view (I realize that I will have more work to do in time to support Lumen etc.). I’ve gotten pretty far with my technique - I implemented a new EMeshPass, a new mesh processor, and all the necessary global shaders to generate all the data I need to apply my visibility buffer to the fullscreen passes to blend the various materials together.

The trouble is in the final pass to invoke the material shaders. I really don’t want to make any changes to BasePassPixelShader.usf if I can avoid it. Instead, I’m trying to write a new .usf that is a trampoline into the base pass pixel shader which decodes my visibility buffer on entry into the shader and applies the appropriate weighting to the results of the base pass in FPixelShaderOut. On paper, it all makes sense but this is proving really difficult as the shader code and bindings feel really intertwined with the flow of FBasePassMeshProcessor. In my case, the material application is just a fullscreen pass - so I’m trying to just get something bootstrapped that is more of an “immediate” style rendering execution.

Effectively, what I’m trying to write is:
GraphBuilder.AddPass(…
{
// lambda pseudo code…
FGraphicsPipelineStateInitializer PSO; // ← set this guy up
SetGraphicsPipelineState(RHICmdList, PSO);