I need help with Room Generation

Hey! I am trying to make an infinite room generation from premade rooms.

The room includes a room with a collision box inside and spawnpoints. The character has that red sphere which overlaps with spawnpoints to generate rooms.

For now it works for one direction but when I add more off them, it crashes and says that it detected infinite loop. I assume that it means that the spawnpoint is not being deleted before telling to spawn a room and it generates the rooms in one place infinitely.

I tried so many things to fix it, if statements, different ways to check overlapping, timers, but I just can’t find the solution…

Oh and I’m a beginner, I started using Unreal a couple days ago so beginner friendly help would be appreciated :stuck_out_tongue:

When you spawn a new room, the player immediately overlaps the new room, that’s the loop.

You need to disable spawning on a point when a room is connected. Actually take a look, is a room connected, then don’t spawn.

That’s what I tried, I set up a if statement if the spawnpoint overlaps with a room causing it to be deleted and it wasn’t working

I did exactly this with maze segments. When you spawn the room, you can set a reference to the spawned room. If that reference is set, don’t spawn another.

But how? I thought that if a spawnpoint of the other room detects that there is already a room it won’t spawn it and delete itself. How else can I do that?

Like this. Each spawn point consists of the location, and a reference to what’s connected there.

If there’s an overlap, check the reference. If it’s null, connect something and set the reference at the same time. Also, set the reference in the spawned blueprint to this room.

You can set the reference variable to be exposed on spawn, so you can set it as the room is being spawned :slight_smile:

But I delete my Spawnpoints when they Spawn a room so how could they store a reference of that room?