I am a expert with blueprints I want to learn c++ what are some tips

Hello everbody in 2023 I set a resolution to learn unreal engine I have successfully learn Unreal. For 2024 I set the resolution to learn c++. To anyone who knows both programming languages do you have any tips for me?

Hello @MoaGameStudios ,

In my opinion, learning C++ while already expert in blueprint is not gonna help really much. Well of course it will gonna help because the flow is kind of the same, but the way to do it is really different. You might find some function that available in blueprint but not in C++ because of different name, or different way to do it.

I recommend you to look for beginner tutorial for C++ or take a beginner UE C++ course to learn it (Even though you already expert at blueprint). Will be different case if you expert on C++ but want to learn blueprint, you might not need a course/tutorial to learn it.

I’m a C++ user that also can use blueprint but I’m learning C++ first before blueprint so I don’t know if these tips will help really much or not. Here is some tips that maybe can be useful in the future if you use C++ from blueprint:

1. IF you want to search for a function in C++ but you can’t found it the step, hover the blueprint node for looking the class name.
    Example:
    I want to call GetPlayerCharacter node in C++ but I don’t know how.
    As you can see above, the tooltips said Target is Gameplay Statics. that mean you can find the function inside GameplayStatics class. Knowing the class name, will be a really HUGE help to know how to do it.

2. Befriend with log.
    As you are using blueprint, there is a chance that you haven’t use log before (Its different with print string node). In blueprint if you want to print something you just need to use PrintString node right, but in C++, logging is shorter and easier than doing PrintString.

if (GEngine)
{
	GEngine->AddOnScreenDebugMessage(0, 2.f, FColor::Blue, FString("Hello This is my print string"));
}