HTC Vive passthrough camera AR/VR development

Hi everyone,

I am quite new to developing VR experiences and using Unreal Engine 5. I have a project to undertake, and I own an HTC Vive Pro Eye. I would like to utilize its passthrough camera input similar to AR and then manipulate it within Unreal Engine. I have come across some videos featuring different HMDs, but I believe they were using Unity. If anyone could guide me on how to accomplish this in Unreal Engine, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance.

There is no official support AFAIK, but I wrote a plugin for it: GitHub - Rectus/UE4SteamVRPassthrough at ue5

It only provides the same projection the 2D Room View mode in SteamVR does, which at least on the Valve Index has a lot of issues. It does allow you to access the camera images inside materials though, if you need more access, you would need to modify the plugin.

I’ve also written a newer implementation as an OpenXR API layer. It doesn’t allow accessing the camera images, but it has much better projection. I haven’t seen any confirmation whether it works on the Vive Pro though. GitHub - Rectus/openxr-steamvr-passthrough: OpenXR API Layer for SteamVR camera passthrough

2 Likes

thanks a lot will try

I’m having trouble managing the build plugins in version 5.2. Which version are you using? Let me explain the steps I follow:

1. Create a project.
  2. Create a ‘plugins’ folder in the root directory of the project.
  3. Unzip your plugin and place it there.

When I try to build and reopen the project, it displays the following message: 'Try rebuilding from the source manually.

If you can help, that would be great. Thank you.

I’ve only tested it on 5.0 and 4.27. Unfortunately I don’t have any pre-built version, you will have to build the plugin manually.

Were you able to do occlusion with the Vive?