Download

How to replicate "random stream"?

I ran into a problem while replicating my game, I have no idea how to replicate this code, namely the random spawn of items on the map. I am new to UE4, so I will be glad if you can help me!

Blueprint: Screenshot by Lightshot

You need to RPC to the Server and get it to execute the Random node. Then assign the result to a replicated var that clients all have access to. :wink: So, don’t use random nodes client-side for core gameplay, only for incidental things like Visual FX. BTW: If you’re learning this stuff through Video-Tuts / Docs, try instead to take projects apart (see sig). :wink:

Yeah the Server needs to Spawn items. When the server spawns things, it will replicate the spawning to each client.

The same approach applies to picking up and dropping items.

What the others said about spawning.
About the thread title: dont replicate the stream, but the seed and initialize the stream on everyones machine with it once at the beginning. everyone will then generate the same random numbers in the same order whenever they request a random number from the stream. so in your BP dont create a random seed (SeedRandomStream), but set the seed to a specific integer (SetRandomStreamSeed) - the one you replicated. the number used as a seed should be picked by the host initially, either randomly (e.g. millsecs) or as a UI setting available to the player hosting (“lets play seed 12347 again, it was fun last time!”).

Thank you, I thought for a long time how best to do this.

https://forums.unrealengine.com/core/image/png;base64

I tried to do what you said, but as far as I understand, nothing worked for me. I hope you can help me

Blueprint: Screenshot by Lightshot (It’s actor)

Are you initializing the seed in the game instance?
Screenshot 2021-01-22 131454.jpg

If you still need help, attach the image here on these forums as that site is blocked wherever it is.:wink:

Here yah go.