How to open an editor widget on plugin click

Hi!

I’m working on a project and I would like to make my own plugin (with a button in the editor toolbar)

I have to open an editor widget, pretty simple right? But I’m really new in C++ and I can’t figure how to do this.

I only know that I have to put some code in here (it’s the UE example) :

void FTestToolbarbtnModule::PluginButtonClicked()
{
	// Put your "OnButtonClicked" stuff here
	FText DialogText = FText::Format(
							LOCTEXT("PluginButtonDialogText", "coucoucoucocuocuocuAdd code to {0} in {1} to override this button's actions coucou"),
							FText::FromString(TEXT("FTestToolbarbtnModule::PluginButtonClicked()")),
							FText::FromString(TEXT("TestToolbarbtn.cpp"))
					   );
	FMessageDialog::Open(EAppMsgType::Ok, DialogText);
}

Can you help me?

Thanks in advance!

Hey, I’m having this same issue. I was wondering if you ever figured it out?

Here is the solution: Load the editor utility blueprint first, then spawn and register it accordingly by UEditorUtilitySubsystem.SpawnAndRegisterTab

void FTestToolbarbtnModule::PluginButtonClicked() const
{
	UObject* WidgetObj = LoadObject<UObject>(nullptr, TEXT(" *Path of the Utility Widget*"));
	UEditorUtilityWidgetBlueprint* WidgetBP = static_cast<UEditorUtilityWidgetBlueprint*>(WidgetObj);
	UEditorUtilitySubsystem* EditorUtilitySubsystem = GEditor->GetEditorSubsystem<UEditorUtilitySubsystem>();
	EditorUtilitySubsystem->SpawnAndRegisterTab(WidgetBP);
}
2 Likes

Thanks for posting this!

Two questions @Vahab if you can spare a moment? :slight_smile:

1. Where should we actually put the Editor Utility Widget files? Do we move the “.uasset” files for the EUW into a path? That’s what I’ve been trying to do. I’ve moved them to here:
    {UNREALPROJECTNAME}\Plugins{pluginname}\Resources\EUW

2. When you say PATH OF THE UTILITY WIDGET, is that a relative path? and is it just a path to a folder that we should do - or a path and then a .uasset item?