How to make Megascans Default Material Triplanar

Hello! Noob here :slight_smile:
I’m using the newest version of Quixel Bridge (2019.5.0). When I export a material to the engine (4.24) it is a Material Instance of a default Master Material that gets imported automatically.

You can see it here:

How would I go about making this material world aligned or Tri-Planar, so I can use it on objects of any size with the material never getting skewed and projecting in all directions?

I got it working for one direction, here:

But making it work for the other 2 directions remains a mystery to me.

Hi!

You need to align the texture to the other world axes. This is a bit tricky and you need to have 3 texture sampler in order to have each one aligned to each axis. I prepared a simple example with anotations to explain it better:

You can add an Add node after each World Pixel Position mask, before connecting it to the UV, to get an UV offset for each side separately.

Hope it helps you!

Thanks Darxen!

I didn’t see your post and got it to work with the World Aligned Texture node. I had to use Texture Objects instead of Texture Samples. For the Normal Map I used the World Aligned Normal node.

Here some before and after shots:

Albedo (Roughness and Metallic follow the same logic):

[ATTACH=JSON]{“data-align”:“none”,“data-size”:“full”,“data-tempid”:“temp_179961_1577433199837_245”,“title”:“Capture1.PNG”}[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=JSON]{“data-align”:“none”,“data-size”:“full”,“data-tempid”:“temp_179962_1577433219926_750”,“title”:“Capture2.PNG”}[/ATTACH]

Normal:

[ATTACH=JSON]{“data-align”:“none”,“data-size”:“full”,“data-tempid”:“temp_179963_1577433390414_259”,“title”:“Capture3.PNG”}[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=JSON]{“data-align”:“none”,“data-size”:“full”,“data-tempid”:“temp_179964_1577433404737_434”,“title”:“Capture4.PNG”}[/ATTACH]

Distance Based Tessellation/Displacement: