How to make ai stop moving after colliding with a trigger box and playing an animation?

Hi!

I’m an animator trying to do a project for uni, which means I don’t really know a bunch about Unreal and blueprints and things. But, I currently have an ai which uses a behaviour tree to chase the player and roam when they can’t see them.

I’ve also got a trigger box set up, in the level blueprint, which will make the ai play an animation once they collide which works.

But I’m stuck with making the ai stop following and looking at the player once they’ve hit the trigger box, I’ve tried to look for things that talk about this online but I can’t seem to find anything that gives a clear answer.
The plan for this character is to follow the player, once they can’t see the player they will walk around (which it does), but then once it reaches certain parts of the map then it will sort of forget about the player? And will interact with the environment through animations. So for example what I’m trying to do now is that once this character walks into the triggerbox at a campfire it will stop and do various animations to show them interacting with this. But i’m unsure how to merge these two parts together so the character will actually stop trying to find/follow the player.

1 Like

I am not sure I get your question completely but try using animation montage which resets ai after triggering.

Likely you’ll need a boolean that is set to true when the ai character overlaps the trigger box - and false when the overlap ends. Then link this with a blackboard entry on the behavior tree that has precedence over the other trees. So, when they overlap, the character starts playing their animation and you can set the other parts of the tree to false. Or, go back to roaming. Does that make sense? I could try to mock up what you’re working on to give a more clear answer when I have some more time. It’s been a while since I’ve touched behavior trees.