Download

How to make a trigger box to switch materials by pressing a button from the touch controllers?

Hello Guys, I’m frustrated here,
I’m using the UE4 VR Template and Migrated my project to that template to be able to use the HMD and touch controllers in the level.

But I wanted to add a Trigger_Box that can change the material of a StaticMesh by pressing the “B Button” on my touch controllers.
and make the effect within the overlap area of that trigger box.

I’m new to the VR Dev. and my knowledge is still in the beginner phase, so it someone managed to make the hands in the project template provided with the engine to interact with trigger boxes and other stuff please help me, and also i wanted to make a door open and close when i reach out my hand and press the tigger button on the handle :smiley:

Thanks a lot.

Don’t be frustrated, that’s just part of the learning process we all went through at a certain point.

Here are few pointers for you:

• Create a static mesh actor blueprint which contains the mesh (let’s say a cube) whose material you want to change
  • Add a collision box volume around it, make it larger than the contained mesh. Make sure it is set to generate overlap events and is set to OverlapAllDynamics
  • Select the collision box and right click in the Event Graph, look for the On Begin Overlap Event. This is the event that is triggered every time another actor “enters” the collision box.
  • When the Begin Overlap event is triggered, you have to check that the actor entering the volume is one of the motion controllers. You do that by Casting to BP_MotionController and checking that the cast is successful. If the cast is successful, set a boolean variable bIsOverlapping? to True, otherwise set it to False. The value of the variable should be False to start with.
  • Define also the On End Overlap Event for the trigger volume and when it fires set the bIsOverlapping? variable to False.

Now the tricky part.