How to make a sphere mask that masks out post process volume, fog and particles around player?

Hi!
I need Help!
I am totally new to UE4 and game development, I come from animated film background and have experience with 3d programs and rendering, and 2d compositing however I am having problem wrapping my head around some concepts in UE.
I am helping friends to achieve certain global look in their game for that I have used post process volume (using Gausian DOF), combined with ExponentialHeightFog (that fades out near camera) and some particles flying around. The game is co-op almost top down, and when two players walk away from each other camera moves backwards to keep them on screen and players get engulfed in these effects too much. I would like to make a spherical mask with soft falloff around players that would eliminate or attenuate this three combined effects.
The problem is not that simple because these three effects are all of completely different kinds and need multiple node setups/blueprints to work; basically after a week of trying very hard and learning new things along the way I am stuck…
I found this:

I got this black and white image but failed to compose it with the post process volume in a useful way, that is so the sphere-masks-out the DOF effect. I am not sure if “ScreenTexture:PostProcessInput0” node I use to composite in with this setup (to blend it with PPV) is with or without PPV effects. It would help if there were some blending modes for blending PPV with PP Materials, or even better it would be great if PPV settings (DOF, tint etc.) were part of PP Material node system… but they are not and that is where my brain starts to hurt.
I found these two tutorials hoping I could maybe use this technique to mask out the particles:- YouTube all kind of fell apart for me… (not working as shown, must be my bad I am sure) Is this the right track for masking the visibility of particles around the player?
I also found this: