How to go about transferring a post process material to surface?

Hi there!
I’m a bit of a newbie when it comes to materials in UE so I hoped one of you shader gods might be able to enlighten me a little here :raised_hands:
I have been following this tutorial on how to implement Gaussian blur post process material in UE4: Unreal Engine 4 Custom Shaders Tutorial | raywenderlich.com

It all works as intended but I would really like to make it into a surface domain material so it can be applied directly to objects in the world and be rendered at the same time as the rest of the frame. Is something like that possible?
I have attempted to change the domain to surface and blend mode to translucent, but then I get an error saying I can’t use PostProcessInput0 in the scenetexture on surface materials. Maybe there is an alternative node?

I have attached an image of the setup below.
The code inside the Gaussian Blur and Global custom nodes can also be found below.

Thank you in advance!
Rasmus

Gaussian Blur custom node:

static const int SceneTextureId = 14;
float2 TexelSize = View.ViewSizeAndInvSize.zw;
float2 UV = GetDefaultSceneTextureUV(Parameters, SceneTextureId);
float3 PixelSum = float3(0, 0, 0);
float WeightSum = 0;

for (int x = -SD; x <= SD; x++)
{
for (int y = -SD; y <= SD; y++)
{
float2 Offset = UV + float2(x, y) * TexelSize;
float3 PixelColor = SceneTextureLookup(Offset, SceneTextureId, 0).rgb;
float Weight = Calculate1DGaussian(x / SD) * Calculate1DGaussian(y / SD);
PixelSum += PixelColor * Weight;
WeightSum += Weight;
}
}

return PixelSum/WeightSum;

Global custom node:

return 1;
}

float Calculate1DGaussian(float x)
{
return exp(-0.5 * pow(3.141 * (x), 2));

No. you are blurring the scene image. Not the object.

what is your end goal? A blurry object. or an object that blurs the rest of the scene?

A blurry object can be done on the object itself by using some sort of transparency shell - an item with 2 materials basically.