How to get playarea points from OpenXR (chaperone/guardian etc.)

Hi there,
i’m fairly new to vr dev in ue. I want to get the exact shape (or as exact as possible) of the play area border in unreal. AFAIK back in the days there was this “Steam VRChaperone” component that you could add to your player pawn to retrieve all points of your chaperone. In the oculus world there is a “Get Guardian Points” node to retrieve the points of the guardian area. It is just logical that those information about guardian/chaperone exists and it seems the propreitary apis (steam/oculus) have functions to access them.

Now these days UE seems to only rely on openxr which supports steam and oculus hardware to a good degree. But i wonder why there is no function to obtain data about the playarea of the underlying system (chaperone/guardian) - or am i blind?

Maybe some of you can shed some light. Maybe iam also totally wrong and understood this thing about play area wrong.

Would be greatful to hear some thoughts. Thanks :slight_smile:

For some background info: Iam using ue5 and quest 3. Currently i play around in ue and start the vr game from editor. The quest 3 is connected using Steam Link or Quest Link over wifi. I would like to use the (chaperone/guardian) points to match the headset orientation in the virtual world to the realworld. Since these points are sticky to the realworld, it would be the perfect reference point. I also tried to achieve this with ARPins, but couldnt get it to work and also seems a bit overkill for what i want.

hey, @DanielMo!

here:
Visualizing Play Area Bounds | Unreal Engine 4.27 Documentation

it shows you how to access the playing boundary.

Happy Game Developing!

Hi thanks for the answer :slight_smile: