How to get a Pointer (in C++) to a Blueprint Actor in the Scene.

Hello,
I have a Blueprint called “BP_SplineTrack” and there is an Instance/Actor of it in my Scene. I also have a UCLASS in c++ and want it to have a private Pointer to that Actor, so that I can call a Function of it later on.

How do I do that?

Currently I have something of that sort:

UClass* SplineTrackBlueprintClass = FindObject<UClass>(ANY_PACKAGE, TEXT("BP_TrackSpline"));
m_SplineActor = UGameplayStatics.GetActorOfClass(GetWorld(), SplineTrackBlueprintClass);

But m_SplineActor is a AActor pointer and no BP_SplineTrack pointer, so the compiler throws in error when I try to call the BlueprintFunction later (using the arrow operator ->)

Thanks for all the help!

P.S. Please have in mind, that I’m fairly new to Unreal Engine

You cannot call pure blueprint functions from C++.

What you need to do is create a C++ class derived from AActor and set it as the parent class in your BP_TrackSpline. Then you can use UGameplayStatics::GetActorOfClass() and find the actor of the C++ class you’ve created.

In turn, in that C++ class you can have a public function marked with UFUNCTION(BlueprintImplementableEvent) that you can call from C++ and make it perform the actual function in the blueprint.

:heart: Welcome to the UE Forums @ullriche !!! :heart:

For this type of use case, I would recommend that you

1. Create a BP of the GameState class, and have your own C++ version of the GameState that you then make a BP of.

2. Add a variable of same type as the C++ version of your custom actor (which you mentioned you then made a BP of) to the C++ custom Game State that you make.