How to deal with listen server/client <-> database communication?

Hey, I’m an indie dev who’s working on something that will hopefully be a “live service-like” game at some point and I need to figure out how I’m going to deal with storing player information among other things.

I don’t have the budget to run a dedicated server so I will have to make p2p and listen servers work.

As a Blueprint Andy with some Python/JavaScript experience and lots of determination, backend and databases is unfamiliar territory for me so I need a nudge in the right direction

From what I understand on the topic, client to database communication is a big security risk so I cannot simply have the clients connect directly because this would require them to hold the authentication info to the database. Anyone could decompile the game and grab this sensitive info.

So I’m going to need a webserver that acts as a gatekeeper to the info stored on the database through some API.

Here ends the extend of my knowledge and the questions begin:

1. Do I have the right idea?

2. What exactly does the webserver need to do? Basically have code that handles the API communication? And then links this to a code that read/writes on the database?

3. What is stopping a malicious actor from telling the webserver to do what they want to?

4. What tools are available to me to make this as easy as possible? (Any plugins/software/services/database types etc that make the job easier?)

5. Are there any games out there that work like this?

6. In a system like this are there any pitfalls I should be aware of?

Appreciate any input!
Also if there is any learning material on the topic I should know about, please share:)

The biggest issue I see is “Listen Servers”. The host client is the server, so essentially some level of auth will have to be given to them to access the DB.

Game Server → Web Service API (Restful) → Database