How to create overlap events with C++ with BaseCharacter CapsuleComponent ?

Hello,

I’m new to C++ (and have like 2 days of experience using it)
I would like to recreate something as simple as overlapping an actor with the base character’s CapsuleComponent.

The overlapped actor only has a StaticMesh as root component.
And the Character doesn’t have any extra components.

It’s easy in BP, but in C++ I tried to use this in the Base Character class.

.h

public:
UFUNCTION()
void OnPickupOverlap(UPrimitiveComponent* OnComponentBeginOverlap, UPrimitiveComponent* OverlappedComponent, AActor* OtherActor, UPrimitiveComponent* OtherComp, int32 OtherBodyIndex, bool bFromSweep, const FHitResult& SweepResult);

.cpp

//constructor
 	GetCapsuleComponent()->OnComponentBeginOverlap.AddDynamic(this, &ThisClass::OnPickupOverlap);
void ACPPtrainCharacter::OnPickupOverlap(UPrimitiveComponent* OnComponentBeginOverlap, UPrimitiveComponent* OverlappedComponent, AActor* OtherActor, UPrimitiveComponent* OtherComp, int32 OtherBodyIndex, bool bFromSweep, const FHitResult& SweepResult)
{
	if (AMyCPPActor* MyActorPtr = Cast<AMyCPPActor>(OtherActor))
	{
		MyActorPtr->Destroy();
	}
}

MyCPPActor is set with

.cpp

MeshComp = CreateDefaultSubobject<UStaticMeshComponent>;
RootComponent = MeshComp ;
MeshComp->SetCollisionProfileName("OverlapAll", true);
MeshComp->SetGenerateOverlapEvents(true);

.h

public:
UPROPERTY(EditAnywhere, BlueprintReadWrite)
UStaticMeshComponent* MeshComp;

And I can’t get it to work at all… the overlap events never trigger.
I think I need help with this. :sweat_smile:

personally I like to bind the Overlap events in

public: virtual void PostInitializeComponents() override;

when you bind the delegate in the constructor it is possible the components has not been initialized to bind too, so the binding never actually happens. though I will presume that in your ACPPtrainCharacter you have done

GetCapsuleComponent()->SetGenerateOverlapEvents(true);