How to create custom shader?

Hello, I’m a beginner graphics programmer and I’m interesting in all stuff related to rendering. For me it seems that graphical part of UE4 is the half of the engine, but I can’t find any information about it. Yes, I’ve read this 2 pages in documentation about graphics development but: 1. It seems outdated. 2. Well, I can’t understand anything - it’s so brief and dry.
In learning purposes I want to create a shader (a set of shaders) that uses all pipeline stages. Where should I start? Can you provide a step by step guide what classes I need, how to implement this in engine (because I bet I need to modify source code).

Hi Nikitablack,

I am planning on doing just this, writing some documentation on how to implement your own custom shaders using Vertex Factories, Global Shaders and Drawing Policies. I will be writing the documentation with some examples in mind, so by the end you should have some custom shaders to play with that actually do something. I will be writing the documentation over the weekend.

Hi ,

I saw your previous posts. The hair work is awesome! I asked a question in this thread (hair), but it seems that data lost due to some database problems yesterday. I spent 2 days on ue graphics stuff but still have very little progress. Can I help you with documentation somehow?

Just let me know if there are any specific topics you want me to cover, or any specific effects you want to see. So far the topics I want to cover are:

• How to create shaders based on FGlobalShader
  • How to create Vertex Factories using custom shaders (Including integrating Geometry Shaders, since initially they aren’t supported)
  • A breakdown of Vertex Factory USF (What functions are required and what they do)
  • How to use Compute Shaders
  • How to create a custom Drawing Policy
  • Maybe touch on post processing and Material Editor related stuff

If I understood correctly, FGlobalShader is a post processing thing.