How much rendering control do I have in UE4? [videos]

Hi all,

I’m new to the Blueprints word, having come from a background in WebGL and three.js. I’ve followed a few tutrials online and made a few basic levels in Blueprints and have been loving how quickly I can create worlds, set up cameras, apply light, etc. However I’m wondering how much control I have over these to produce abstract effects like you’ll see in the videos below:

These each use different techniques. The first overlays graphical elements on top of 360 degree video. The second has screen glitches, featureing whales composed of ascii characters. The last uses Lidar scans to render animated point cloud data. These are amazing effects that are done by manipulating shaders, and I’m wondering if UE4 would give me the freedom I want to create abstract scenes similar to these? Or, am I limited to the engine’s rendering models, which is generally geared towards photorealism.

I’m at a difficult juncture now where I have to pick whether or not I want to learn Blueprints to achieve what I’m looking for. On one hand, Blueprints is exceptionally easy to get things prototyped and up and running, but I’m not sure if it’s the tool I need to create the aesthetics I want.

Any advice would be hugely appreciated!

Sort of depends on your final deliverable - if you are ultimately wanting a quicktime file or something then there are other tools that may get you the results you want a bit faster by virtue of being oriented more towards the film/motion graphic pipeline (Houdini or Maya and After Effects for instance).

If you want to create something interactive, all of the examples you showed are certainly possible in UE. Have a look at post processing in UE 4, I think that would be a good starting point. Post Process Effects | Unreal Engine Documentation