How does system specs affect UE performance ?

A little background, I recently got interested in game dev. I’m a 19 yo student majoring in business management, and I guess I just have kept myself pretty busy since the lockdown started. Prior to that, I had zero technical background, but since I’ve started being home all day, I took about 3 months to get a foundational understanding of programming with languages like C and Python. And I spent another month picking up unity and c#. I was just starting to get comfortable with unity but learning more about the different engines available and the games it has produced ( I found bright memory by FYQD particularly inspiring and made me realize what one person can do with something as powerful as UE), I figured UE is more in tune with the kind of games I’d like to make someday. So I quickly decided to make the switch.

I downloaded and installed the launcher and the engine and everything and I also got an unreal introductory course ready to go. Today was supposed to be my first day learning unreal and I woke up excited to start, but about a half-hour in, I get an error ‘**Unreal Engine is exiting due to D3D device being lost’, **I also noticed my laptop fan gets pretty loud when running UE4. I tried to ignore it and restarted the engine, but every 15 minutes or so, the editor kept crashing and the same error kept popping up. Now I did know that UE is a little processor intensive but my system specs are reasonable (i think ?) compared to the minimum system requirements specified in the documentation. And if it’s relevant, because my laptop is prone to heating up very quickly, I have Intel Turbo boost disabled and I’ve also slightly undervolted my system.

My Laptop Specs :

• Windows 10 Home 64-bit
  • Intel core i7 @ 1.8GHz
  • AMD Radeon 530
  • 16 GB RAM