How does one design gameplay logic?

Hi everyone! Very happy to be here and actually making a post about Blueprints as I’m diving more and more into the UE4 system.

My question is very simple in nature and yet I struggle to find the answer on the broad range of YouTube and internets in general: How does one design the gameplay feature?

Example: Let’s say I want to create an inventory system for my Third-Person Template. What methodologies do I need to know in order to create the system on paper or in the flow-chart format?

Where I come from to understand the context better: I’m a UI / UX Designer for web & mobile applications. In my day job, in order to design something, I go through a process of research of requirements, researching market, learning what others have done in the space (what UI’s they have and why they were made this way), and getting down to it by making first sketches and low-level wireframes that help me understand the design problem better.

And for some reason I have a hard time understanding how to apply that to a video game feature.

I created two games before using Unity & Bolt VS, but since they were extremely simple, I never bothered thinking about design patterns or methodologies to implement them.

But now that my ambitions are a little bit higher, I struggle to comprehend what needs to happen in order to implement features.

Currently I’m going through Blueprint course on Udemy by Luccas Schmigel and I’m half-way through, but mostly I’m skipping everything cause I understand the concepts of functions / events / arrays etc. What I don’t understand is how do I break things down into manageable pieces that work with each other.