How do I servertravel with a pre-selected Gamemode

So, I am kind of new to the multiplayer game. so please bare with me, if I may misunderstood parts of the basic concept here.

Following a tutorial series on Youtube, I managed to set up the fundamentals of my multiplayer loop. Stuff like creating/finding/joining a lobby works more or less stable.
Once I create a multiplayer session (Lobby), I can use servertravel to send all connected clients to a selected Level/Map. Now here is where the confusion starts for me. I know I can set up GameMode Classes in a Level’s World Settings. However, what if I want to choose in the Lobby, which GameMode I actually want to play. For instance, in the Lobby I select Level “A” and in addition to that, I would like to choose from two different GameModes (“FreeForAll”, “TeamDeathmatch”).

How do I transmit that information when I use servertravel. Or do I actually have to duplicate my Level “A” twice (“A_FreeForAll”, “A_TeamDeathmatch”) to make that work?

Any advice or idea is welcome and highly appreciated!)

bump

Create a Generalized Game mode that supports Actor Components. The AC’s will handle the logic.

Then use a Command line argument to tell the level or GM how to proceed.

So it is not feasible to just load a map with a different Game Mode Override?
What is the purpose of having multiple Game Mode assets then anyways? I thought the idea of this class was to create rules for certain types of a game. Why would I want to handle that kind of logic else where?

The level loads the GM that’s set in the level settings.

If you create a master GM class that uses AC’s for rules etc you can run your entire game on a single GM.

Smarter, not harder.

You can specify gamemode in ServerTravel URL, like :

LevelA?Game=/Game/Blueprints/BP_FreeForAll.BP_FreeForAll_C?Listen

Here’s some more in-depth info about URL options

2 Likes