How do I generate a static non-mesh sphere from an emitter?

So, the intent is to create a base object for a magic spell which is spherical and not use a mesh renderer, but instead make it a particle. A gradient near the outer edges of the sphere particle needs to be generated so it appears partly non-solid, so no hard lines or solid contours. It’s similar to a generic 2D circle sprite with the soft gradient edges, except full 3D as a sphere. How do I do it in Niagara? It’s also required for it to remain persistent, so it’s not fading or being killed when it’s life cycle is ending or a gradual spawning in. It’s simply there continuously. Attempts at changing some settings have not yielded the specified results yet.

Wow, the Niagara section is not very busy, eh?

Have you tried a ‘sphere location’ module?

what do I render inside the sphere location module? a bunch of particles, or can I use 1 giant particle that I expand to fill the sphere location somehow? I’m still rather new to Niagara, and Cascade, though I understand basically that fx are generated by emitters and modules, and it can be a part of a system. But I’m not fluent in things.

From your description, I’d say render a lot of sprites, which is the default.

If you want to use one giant particle, you actually just need to do it with a mesh, and make the material the same as the default particle material.

If you want to get into it, use Niagara, as Cascade is being phased out.

Ok, thanks for the answers. I really appreciate you responding even though my thread was getting so old.

1 Like

Any of these grab your fancy?

particles

First is a particle system, second is an emissive sphere inside a glass sphere, and the third is a PS inside a glass sphere…

A bit more fiddly:

particles2

Tell me if you want to know the setup…

1 Like