How can I control camera through blueprints

Hey UE folks,

I am currently developing a JRPG in UE4 with a battle system similar to Lost Odyssey / FFX / FFIX etc… and I am struggling to get control of the camera during the battle. I want to do camera effects very similar to what Lost Odyssey did, IE have the camera on the character when he is selecting an action, and have it switched between characters on their turn (ref here : Lost Odyssey | BOSS Fight | Grilgan - YouTube ). Also when they will attack they will have specific cameras to highlight their animation.

Right now I have a system where I could theoretically control the camera separatly for action decision / every different attack / skills I want but I’m struggling to do so as I find very little documentation on this and I’m a beginner in Blueprints. Do you guys know of any good tutorial / documentation that could address this problem? Or has anyone done it before and explain how they did / would do it ?

Thanks a lot for your help in advance !

There are lots of ways that this can be done, that’s why there aren’t any bits of documentation, because this is a very specific subject that is supported by lots of much broader systems and functions available in Blueprints.

As a result, there isn’t a specific answer. It will just require experience and exploration with Ue4 blueprinting for you to find the best option for your project.

This is quite an ambitious thing to attempt if you are very new to blueprints, and I would suggest working on smaller project to improve your skills in a specific area instead and work your way up to JRPG game, but you may be determined to go ahead with this, and so, here are a few things to look into to get the desired effect you want.