Hover event with VIVE Controller

No worries we’re all learning here! :slight_smile:

I have posted some screen shots to help aid you. You want to go to your blue print containing the laser pointer, click on the laser pointer from the components panel on the left, then while it’s highlighted go over to the right details panel and scroll down until you see the events, from there find one titled On component Overlap, click the green plus.

Then connect the nodes as seen in the picture below, on overlap node has pins returning the object that your laser pointer is overlapping with. Note that you will need to perform some sort of check to make sure you are setting the visibility to the correct object, I have mine set up to change the visibility of the root component of ANY actor you overlap with. Final note, you must check the box of the boolean to set the objects’ visibility to visible.

Hi all, I am quite new to Unreal. I made a scene for VR using the standard template.
I use the Vive controllers and navigation/teleporting works well.

Some questions: I need a textrender to appear when hovering with the laserpointer of the controller over an actor.
I have tried everything, but can;t get it working…
I searched all the forums on internet, but no luck for me.

How can I best made this event? I don’t know which event I have to use. Also tried with actoroverlap, but didn’t know which actor I have to use (Grabsphere in the controller BP?)

Other question: when playing in VR I can select all actors and get then a gizmo. Can that be disabled?

Thanks in advance!

Thanks for the quick reply!! I posted some comments, but they are gone…

I tried to make the event you told me about, but I am stucked:
See screenshot. I made a BP of the button-01 and placed a textrender in the scene.

What I want is this textrender to appear on hover, but I am too newbee to make this work…