Host/Join Multiplayer

So i had a idea on how to do hosting and joining with UMG but i’m still kind of new to UE4 and i have a question. So i have a Button that when clicked Executes a console command “open Level1?listen” and that works just fine. Then i have a Join button that when click takes you to a editable text where you type a ip and that textbox is set as a variable. What i’m trying to do is send the numbers typed in the editable text to a execute console command to join that ip. But when i tried it out it did not work. can you guys check and see if i did something wrong or if this even will work at all.

Ip.png

Here is the error i get.

Does anyone know how to fix this?

That is a strange error, I don’t think it’s related to your blueprints. Are you compiling from source or using plugins?

I’m not sure what you mean. I’m packaging the project to test this out on my desktop and that is when the error appears. So my blueprint looks fine the way it is?

Does anyone know why it gives me this error instead of connecting to the ip?.

when loading new map make sure you don’t have any widgets on the screen - remove this widget from the viewport before loading new map. I’ve done the same thing yestarday, and here’s my blueprint which is working - make sure you are playing on standalone game or cooked game.

intoxicat what does your Create Server and Connect to Server event do?

I cannot set click event or anything for mine. How did you do that for yours.:open_mouth:

Ok i found out where i messed up in this. First i did not have it open the map it should of (facepalm) second i forgot to add a space after “open” in the append. Here is what it looks like working.