Horizontal player (quadruped) setup

Hello,

Just getting started with UE4. I’m building a game where the player is a quadruped, and thus is in a horizontal position. However, I’m having difficulty finding the best way to set this up. This is my first time creating a quadruped, so maybe I’m not aware of some tricks. :slight_smile:

My initial thought was to rotate the character capsule 90 degrees so it’s horizontal, but it seems like this isn’t allowed. It’s not exposed in the editor, and when I invested the code, I found this comment in Character.

/** The CapsuleComponent being used for movement collision (if has CharacterMovement). Always treated as being vertically aligned in simple collision check functions. */

Is my only option to create a custom pawn and create a character class myself to allow this? Could I derive from character and override portions of it to allow for horizontal player (saving me time from recreating a lot of things from ACharacter class)? Is there another trick I’m missing?

Thanks in advance.

We haven’t had any trouble with quadrepeds.

Can you share a screenshot?

Here’s some video’s from ingame so you can see, there’s no problem with the cat.

Edit: We aren’t doing any special with the collision capsule. In the blueprint made it shorter and wider, that is all.

I ended up playing with the capsule size and I think I managed to get it to fit well. I had some concerns because the capsule seemed fairly wide in the blueprint editor, but once I loaded up a test level and walked around and seeing how narrow of openings I could walk through, I think it looked okay. Walking through the narrowest opening still felt narrow which is what I was hoping for.

Thanks for the tip !