Download

High school teacher needing advice

I am currently starting my first year teaching of video game production for high school. I have no industry experience but have been teaching myself maya and unreal for a while now. In speaking with industry professionals and college professors who teach gaming I was given the advice to start them in unreal by modding other games and creating objects for them. In particular modding levels in unreal tournament. I feel like this is a great idea and from there we would move towards level design and the students would have a chance to play each other’s levels and test them from time to time on the unreal tournament server.i love this idea and think it would be a great way to get them exposed to game development. My concern is the violence. I know that it’s not a hugely violent game and the violence is pretty cartoony but I worry that’s could be in hot water with parents and administration if I use that game as our primary teaching tool. I can’t really think of a good alternative. That game is free (I have very little money to spend) has an editor that works right in unreal engine 4, and has a server where we could play each other’s levels. If I don’t do that, I will resort to my original plan of having them create levels using the templates but I feel setting up rules, especially for multiplayer, will be over our heads (maybe in year two of the course). Any suggestions?

The Unreal Team has done some great tutorials. One of the best, in my opinion, is the level design tutorial. It teaches the very basics of the engine and is a great place to start. Again, in my opinion, these tutorials are the best way to learn the engine, they hold your hand a lot, so you can understand everything that’s being done, then there’s an “on your own” section at the end, where you use what you’ve learnt to add something onto the level. All this is done with the default assets in UE4 also.