Help with character customisation

Hi guys,

I don’t want to talk too much about my project yet as its in the very early stages. I am a total noob so feel free to abuse me but I am not thick though. Basically step one is characters for me as its going to be a massive thing in this game. I want a character customisation close to that of saints row but with a class based medieval fantasy theme. Basically I want to give the player loads of freedom, male and female models with body customisation and facial customisation and the ability to equip different items obtained in game (swords, bows, staffs, armour) and preform different complex animations based on the class. I’m not really decided on caricature or photo-realism but I think caricature would be easier.

Basically I have no idea where to start on this is there any videos or assets that would help me? I’ve looked at youtube and i’m not really finding any guide that meets my demanding needs. Can anyone help?

no one then

Hello [USER=“3101832”]ollie hillman[/USER],

I’m the developer of BAD MORFO: Multiuser 3D Hyperbasher. I concur with prioritizing the customization system as we’re also doing this for our SciFI FTPS ExORION. The truth is there many ways to approach ‘Customization’ so you will not find a Youtube that caters specifically to implementing one in UnrealEngine. However, you will plenty of videos like this one to get a high-level concept of how Customization Systems are implemented.

Before I starting to script/code anything, I conducted research into how customization is pulled of in variety of game types, not just those with humanoid characters. I created myself a design document to devise my approach as I reviewed many types of in-game construction and customization systems for characters, robots, creatures, weapons, vehicles. The goal of the research was to identify common features all of the systems used. I determined the common features were: