Grabbing handles with VR Hand Tracking

I can’t seem to find any tutorials with the specific pipeline to make something grabbable like a door handle using hand tracking for the Oculus Quest 2.

I’ve been following this tutorial (and its part 2) but it’s very confusing and it doesn’t quite match what I’m looking for:
Just2Devs Hand Tracking Grabbing Objects

Edit: In this tutorial also there are poses used to grab specific objects, I’m not interested in that either, I just want to find a way to grab and have a door turn or a drawer to pull out

1 Like

Hey Moura!

Hey there! I’ve been diving into Hand Tracking for almost 2 years now. Recently, I finally got the time and the right projects to implement these systems.

I’ve used the tutorials from Just2Devs to learn how to implement it, and the hand tracking setup is basically the same as the video you reference - Just2Devs Hand Tracking Grabbing Objects.

For the grabbing part, instead of their setup, I created a hybrid grabbing system, leveraging the Original VR Grab System/Component from the VR Template.

This setup allows me to seamlessly switch between using both hands and controllers (though not simultaneously, although I’ve heard it’s now possible—using hand tracking with controllers as random objects in the scene, pretty cool). I can apply the same grabbing system to both scenarios.

To implement this setup I have changed the input type of “Motion Controller” (GREEN) from the “Get Grab Component Near Motion Controller” to a Sphere Collision Object (RED).

• This means I changed where the grab detection is done - In this case instead of the grab detection being done by the motion controller, is made on custom sphere collisions I created for the hands (both hand tracking or controllers).

• I made this because the motion controller in hand tracking is placed on the wrist, and in controllers it is placed on the palm of the hand mesh.