[GearVR] Tips for increasing iteration time with GearVR

Hi everyone,
I’m just beginning my journal with Unreal Engine and developing for GearVR, and I am finding that the largest bottleneck is the time spent packaging the game. I unchecked “full rebuild” in the packaging settings, but the wait time for packaging still seems to be well over a minute, even when I just make a small change like moving the position of a particle effect. Between the packaging time and then the deployment time to the S6, I feel like my overall iteration time is too low to be nearly as effective as I’d like to be. This becomes even more frustrating because a lot of the effects that run well on my laptop bring the gear to a halt- which makes sense, but makes it very difficult to efficiently develop for. Has anyone else in the GearVR dev community run into this issue? If so- any tips on how to speed up development and packaging?

Unfortunately the way you are doing it is about as good as it gets, from what I could find.

Something I was able to do was to test stuff on the phone without actually putting it in the Gear. I was using a DS4 controller connect via Bluetooth to look and control without the Gear sensors. Doing it this way also helped for getting debug information (e.g. draw calls/memory usage) when doing certain things in game, as I could display it on the screen and still just about read it (which I couldn’t do in the Gear).

It is also possible to set up wireless Android APK. Meaning you don’t need to plug phone in to PC to install the game every time. I have not tried this tho as it is apparently much slower so probably not of much use to you.

Thanks Drenmon, appreciate the response! Not actually putting in the gear will help somewhat for sure.