Gear VR getting started judder / shaking

Howdy! First post, extreme UE newbie here. I’ve got a Gear VR (Note 4, Lollipop, Snapdragon, UE4.8.1) and I’m trying to learn Unreal Engine so I can try making some content. I followed the “Up and Running with Gear VR” Twitch training video Sam made. It was very helpful, and I was able to replicate what he showed, BUT! The judder is terrible in the headset. Whenever I turn my head quickly I basically see double, almost like it’s rendering twice and blending the frames or something, hard to describe. Very nauseating. I thought maybe it was a frame rate thing, but I couldn’t get any improvement with monkeying with it (like locking the frame rate to 60). I realized that when creating the project I had selected the “First Person” template that was under the “Blueprints” tab rather than the “C++” tab, so I started from scratch and did it all again but it worked just the same.

Digging through these forums I saw the old post where they pointed to a template for a Gear VR environment that works, the project is called “Gear VR Lighting” (it was uploaded to Google Drive) and features a number of multicolored spheres rising and falling. After auto-upgrading the project to 4.8.1, this works perfectly for me, no judder whatsoever, head tracking is silky smooth. Of course I could just copy this project and use it as a base for everything, but I really want to understand what I’m missing. I have tried comparing the two projects side-by-side but haven’t turned up anything useful yet.