GAS vs Character Movement Component? - Where and how implement movement abilities?

Hi everyone

The Context:
I’m studying the Gameplay Ability System (GAS) more closely these days along with replicated movement abilities. I never did a multiplayer project in Unreal Engine and after investigation, I’ve found that there are several ways to implement the same feature and I want to know what’s best. I will be using the Gameplay Ability System and the Enhanced Input.

The Question:
Where would the implementation of movement gameplay abilities, such as sprinting, wall running, climbing, sliding, etc be best between the Character Movement Component and the Gameplay Abilities? Would it be both?

My reasoning:
I know that blueprints aren’t ideal for replicated movement mechanics. As such, I always saw that sprint functionality (for example) was always better to be implemented directly into the character movement component. In doing so, you can change the movement speed and acceleration by using different values instead of editing them at run time. However, the Lyra game sample confused me.

In Lyra, there is no sprinting ability by default, but the aim down sight ability does alter the Character Movement Component. I don’t think it does it in an ideal way either. When initiating the ADS ability, the Gameplay Ability itself (not a Gameplay Effect) casts to the Character Movement Component to locally save the character’s walking speed at the moment of triggering the ability, sets a new value, then when the ability ends, it sets back the value to the recorded value. I see here that it is possible to have a Gameplay Ability to have the character sprint, but I see a red flag here: