Gamma? sRGB? Don't know the terms, but my colors are weeeeeeird.

Hey guys! Firstly, I’m pretty new to Unreal and very far from being a programmer, so bear with me being a bit clueless and probably calling things by wrong terms. :wink:

Anyway: I am having a general problem in UE, primarily in the material editor, and I am unaware if it is simply me that has my settings set up wrong, or if this happens for everyone. Basically, it SEEMS like everything in the editor is being run through a gamma filter or something, and I cannot for the love of me find where I would go about changing it. It’s a big problem for generated gradients which I tend to use a lot of, but the color picker is a big problem too - I just want to be able to use the standard colors, not the sRGB ones which tend to look washed out and are generally way too light. If I ever want a dark color I have to set the slider so close to black it is almost silly. Just to reiterate, this is a problem affecting me while working; making materials and whatnot, I am not talking about while I’m in play-mode.

I’ve whipped up an approximation of the problem here.

I really hope it’s just me being a newb and have missed something obvious. Any advice is very appreciated.

This is because Unreal Engine allows you to edit in linear space, but most computer monitors are set to correct to gamma space. Basically, in order for a medium grayscale value to appear on a monitor, you only need a small amount of light. Then the brighter you want the monitor, the more difficult it becomes to show brighter values. Around 0.2 is the real value for a medium gray. Most monitors use the sRGB gamma space which raises all colors to a power of approximately 2.21. This becomes especially critical when you’re designing very dark materials or linear gradients.