GameState variable replication issue?

Hey everyone! I’m new to networking as a whole and have come upon an issue I can’t seem to solve, so any help would be appreciated.

Each PlayerState contains a current_team variable, an array of CharacterStructs (a party system, really). When the game begins, the GameMode tells the GameState to gather all of the CharacterStructs from both players’ current_team array. This collection is done server-side, collecting the current_team arrays and loading them into one of its own variables, either “_team1” or “_team2”. Then using a multicast event I spawn those characters out into the world on their respective start positions.

Get All Characters:

SpawnCharacters:

Here is where something gets messed up though. The SpawnCharacters function spawns a custom PlayerPawn_BP instance, basically a blank slate. I load this blank slate with all of the information held in the _team1 or _team2 variable (each are an array of 3 indices, each index a CharacterStruct. The CharacterStructs hold the skeletal mesh to spawn, the pawn’s name, heath, etc.) If I play with a listen server, the character’s spawn correctly, but only for the listen server’s PlayerState. For all clients, all pawns spawn, but they are still blank slates, having none of the _team1/_team2 data loaded into them. This makes me think that when the _team1/_team2 variables are written and the clients draw from those variables to spawn their pawns, they can’t access the correct data. However, both _team1 and _team2 are already set to replicate.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Don’t think variable replication is the real issue here. You shouldn’t really be spawning the players in the GameState, do that in the GameMode.

Also, it seems you’re trying to have each client spawn each player? The server already does that, so just have the server spawn everything, and have the clients grab the names/HP/whatever of each player from the GameState