From Blueprint : Accessing Actor Component(C++) in another Actor Component(C++)

Hi everyone,

I am new to Unreal, with experience in C++. In this project, I am creating a weapon system that I can create multiple weapons out of a base blueprint, select different firing mechanics (e.g. pistol - one click one shot, machine gun - click and hold to shoot multiple bullets, etc).

This is how my base weapon looks like in blue print editor.

134893-weaponrange.png

This is how RangeMechanic looks like in c++.

UCLASS( ClassGroup=(Custom), meta=(BlueprintSpawnableComponent) )
class PROJECT_API URangeMechanic : public UActorComponent
{
	GENERATED_BODY()

public:
	UPROPERTY( EditAnywhere, BlueprintReadWrite, meta = ( Category = "Default", OverrideNativeName = "Firing Mechanic" ) )
		TSubclassOf<UFiringMechanic> m_firingMechanic;

// Sets default values for this component's properties
	URangeMechanic();

protected:
	// Called when the game starts
	virtual void BeginPlay() override;

public:	
	// Called every frame
	virtual void TickComponent(float DeltaTime, ELevelTick TickType, FActorComponentTickFunction* ThisTickFunction) override;
	UFUNCTION( BlueprintCallable, Category = "Weapon Functions" )
		virtual void UseWeapon() { UE_LOG( LogTemp, Warning, TEXT( "WII : URangeMechanic::UseWeapon" ) ); }

};

In another blueprint, I added this to allow me to trigger UseWeapon() in RangeMechanic.

As expected, when left mouse button is click during play, the following is printed

LogTemp:Warning: WII : URangeMechanic::UseWeapon

As shown above in RangeMechanic code, I have another c++ class, FiringMechanic, that is supposed to be a base class to be inherited and have it’s UseWeapon() overrided.

134895-weaponrangedetails.png

My ideal would be to have UseWeapon() in FiringMechanic, have RangeMechanic reference call that function in FiringMechanic reference. In c++, it can be done as follows.

void URangeMechanic::UseWeapon()
{