Foliage / grass

Hi guys and girls im very new to unreal and previously only worked in gml .First of all this engine is amazing and im loving learning it .But i am having trouble creating foliage and grass for unreal 4.14 i am pretty good at blender as i have been using it for a number of years now so that is my preferred 3d asset creation programme . i also have a number of programmes namely crazybump substancepainter photoshop . i am quite frankly horrible at learning and i often take weeks to learn simple things . I have tried to follow tutorials on creating foliage but they usually use programmes i am not familiar with or asset packs that are no longer compatible with the new unreal 4.14 . i have all the gear and no idea as they say … i would prefer to learn how to create the grass etc myself rather than simply import an asset made by somebody else . even tho i did try that and failed i was left with the billboard planes with no grass visible … could anyone please refer me to a good tutorial for dumb people lol preferably using the programmes i have as i have looked and cannot find any that use my specific tool set … thanks guys

You have to make sure that you import the mesh + the texture so that you can create a material inside UE4 which you can assign to your grass mesh -> grass material: :slight_smile:
So bascially:

1. create a grass patch texture
  2. create billboards in your 3d program + uv map it so that the texture gets displayed correctly
  3. import the mesh (fbx) and the texture
  4. create a material (right click on the texture)
  5. assign the material to the mesh

Thank you sounds simple enough ill let you know how i get on