Download

Errors after following tutorial

I want to draw an outline around objects that are selected in-game and I found this tutorial. I followed it as well as I could but I am getting 2 errors.

One of the errors was in mf_extractDepth, and the other was in the material itself.

Hereis a imgur album of the material functions and materials.

Could someone explain how to fix these errors? As I’m quite new to unreal engine it would be appreciated if I could get a detailed explanation.

‘Scene texture expressions cannot be used in opaque materials’ = Click on the background of the material graph, you need to set your blend mode to something other than opaque ( it’s in the tutorial ).

‘Missing function input texture UV’ = those two big function nodes need a UV input. Right click on the graph background and find the node ‘texture coordinate’. Plug that into the UV pins on the function calls.

I fixed the other error but this one I don’t really understand. I’m guessing you want me to change the blend mode in the material functions detail pane but there isn’t an option to do that. Thisis how it looks.

I feel stupid because I remember doing it in the other ones.

I think you have to change it in the material you’re trying to use the function in?

The material I’m using it in has additive as its blend mode.

Not in the material function’s detail pane…in the material function’s graph or in the graph of the material that uses the material function (or both)…click in an empty area of the graph so the general settings show off to the left and select a different blend mode

sorry, didn’t see the further replying until I posted…

If the material it’s used in is Additive, then it would be the material function’s graph to change the setting from Opaque to something else.

No “general settings” pane shows up to the left. Only the “details” one.

In the main material, click on the background of the graph, then on the left you have the details panel :slight_smile: