Engine crashes whenever I render. Something to do with scratch buffer???

I’m trying to render a couple frames with path tracer, but once I start rendering, after just a couple seconds the engine crashes. All I get for an error report is this. Couldn’t find anything about it online and I’m not a coder. :laughing:

Assertion failed: ScratchBufferRequiredSize + ScratchBufferOffset <= ScratchBufferSize [File:D:\build++UE5\Sync\Engine\Source\Runtime\D3D12RHI\Private\D3D12RayTracing.cpp] [Line: 4528] BLAS scratch buffer size is 2384125440 bytes with offset 6326486827008 (6328870952448 bytes available), but the build requires 6679092736 bytes.

Also, when I try to render without pathtracing, my screen instantly enters power saving mode and won’t come out of it unless I restart my computer. :neutral_face:

Getting the same thing, did you ever find a solution>?

Has this ever been fixed?

Getting

1. Assertion failed: ScratchBufferRequiredSize + ScratchBufferOffset <= ScratchBufferSize [File:D:\build++UE5\Sync\Engine\Source\Runtime\D3D12RHI\Private\D3D12RayTracing.cpp] [Line: 4431] BLAS scratch buffer size is 337380352 bytes with offset 11274622134272 (11111084792832 bytes available), but the build requires 4551680 bytes. UnrealEditor_D3D12RHI UnrealEditor_RHI UnrealEditor_Renderer UnrealEditor_RHI UnrealEditor_RHI UnrealEditor_RHI UnrealEditor_Core UnrealEditor_Core UnrealEditor_RenderCore UnrealEditor_Core UnrealEditor_Core kernel32 ntdll

Happens seemingly at random whenever I use the pathtracer.

i9 13900K
128GB RAM
3090 24GB

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

For anyone else - Seem to have found out what’s happening.
The BLAS buffer has to do with geometry complexity outside of Nanite.
Meaning - if your scene has many Static Meshes that are not using Nanite, try switching over to Nanite - Simply put, the BLAS buffer needs space to calculate geometry - if there’s too much complex geometry, this seems to happen.