Dynamic Material peformance

Hi,

I’m working on a model that has a large set of buttons that light up and which need to be able to toggle independently through Blueprint/code. The entire model uses one texture and material. My plan was to use a single emissive texture that contains all buttons, tied to a parameter, then have each button mesh a separate component in Blueprint. Then in the construction script, I’d turn the assigned materials into Dynamic Material Instances and reference them in variables (possibly adding them to an array). Each button can then be turned on and off independently. However, only a maximum of 10 buttons can be active at any one time.

Now, I wonder if this is the way to go, or if there is another more efficient way of doing it. It works, I already (partly) tested it, but I want to know if this is too inefficient or performance heavy, since I’m still a beginner in terms of understanding performance bottlenecks and optimizations.

Yeah, I think this is the way to go.

• In the Material itself promote the emissive color to a variable.
  • Create one Dynamic Material Instance for every button.
  • Then “edit vector parameter” of the Material Instances during runtime.

I don’t think emissive color and Material Instances are that performance heavy as I’m using it, too.
But I’m also pretty new to developement.

How many buttons are we talking about? Each buttons will have some overhead, but for this to be an issue you probably need a very large amount of them.

A possible approach that would scale better could be:

• Assign a single dynamic material instance to all buttons.
  • Adjust the UVs of the buttons so they lay nicely in a grid. (Potentially in a separated UV set if you already used the others for texturing/lightmapping)
  • Create a material that can blend 10 shapes the size of one button in UV space
  • Add ten parameters to set the UV locations of those shapes