Dynamic Lighting Shadow Bias problems

My apologies for the vague topic name, but basically I am creating a level of a house, with white plaster walls (the standard), the player character is small (like a cat), and can run around in this level.
I wish the player to be able to interact with lights in the environment, to be able to turn room lights on and off, in fact, light will play a major part of the gameplay. There will not be any day/night cycle affecting the rooms however.
So as far as I understand, I will need to use dynamic lights for every room, switches to interact with those lights to turn them on/off or dim them.

The problem, that I have, which is the same problem I had in CryEngine, is that with dynamic lighting, the issue of shadow biasing arises, where great big dark shadowy lines appear.
This can be remove by upping the shadow bias amount to something like 0.8 from 0.5, but presents a new issue, shadows then become noticeably offset.

I am by no means an expert at lighting, and wish to ask if there is some tried and true method that people use for their scenes and games?

I feel that it’s more likely just a lack of my knowledge, but I have spent days trying to find a solution, only to find that the lump on my head is growing larger as I continue to bash my head against a brick wall.

Thanks in advance, any help would be…uh…unreal tsk tsk :stuck_out_tongue:
(is there a vBulletin feature to create a spoiler tag so the images can be hidden and opened as needed by viewers?)

Pay attention to the book case lighting

Dreaded dark shadowing lines o’ sceney death.

Offset shadows

Lighting seems to go through the object as if it were semi-transparent. Low shadow bias eliminates this effect. Also, 2 sided lighting is on all of the objects.

Hey Otreum,