Does someone else still have problems with MetaHumans performance due to buggy bone removal or should I report this error?

Hi.

I’m fairly new to UE5, but it is widely known apparently that Metahumans are performance heavy for many people, even on high LODs. This is mainly due to, when using higher LODs, while polygons get reduced as (LODs normally do), the bones don’t seem to disappear for real.

It’s really weird that even after checking the MetaHumans on run with “show bones” in console, and clearly seeing the difference on the skeletons (I put multiple BP copies of the metahumans with different LODSync settings), the fps were down to 20fps most of the time, even at LOD7 (about 15 LOD7 MHs)!!

So, basically…I ended up exporting the MH Mesh to blender, manually removed some of the bones only shown at lowest LODs, almost every 12IPV bones, and then re-imported to UE.

The result is fantastic, reducing from 700+ bones to ~260, it runs at smooth 60 fps with 12 MHs at LOD0 (on a NVIDIA1660Ti).

The problem is…why are the bones not getting automatically removed as it is supossed to? I have read the following thread:

Same issue, no solution.

I want to report this bug but maybe it’s been already solved or has to with with some config I forgot to tweak or something.

Thanks.

1 Like

Hey I notice when, inside the metahuman blueprint, I click on Face, then on the right under Skeletal Mesh, I untick “Allow Anim Curve Evaluation” the fps goes way up. I’m not sure what this does tho.

That just disables animations in the face, so if you want to have any animation that solution is not valid.

1. Metahumans are trash. Or well, cinematic only trash. This should be known by all attempting to use them.

2. Skeletal meshes should be limited to 255 bones like they used to be in ue3.
    They raised that to 2 byte (65535) total in ue4 and made this trash possible.
    (Bone influecnce is still 4 to 1(vert), so having 65535 bones is only detrimental really).