Do I need a OSX machine to package from UE4 and install it in iOS devices?

Hi guys,

I am very new to UE4 and noob in iOS development.

I have a working Windows Blueprint base UE4 project and successful package and installed into few Android devices for performance testing purposes.

But I got stuck in packaging it for iOS devices. FYI, I have already registered for Apple Developer ID.

I had read through many tutorials online for these subject and it has come to confuse me even more of the proper step of doing it.

To make myself clear, my questions

1. Do I need an OSX (Macbook, Mac deskstop) to be able to create the signing cert and mobile provision files ?
  2. If I require an OSX machine, and I assume all the signing certificate and mobile provision files are created with my Apple Developer ID from the OSX machine, but how to create the KEY PAIR file that require to import into my windows projects?

Thank you very much in advance.

You don’t need a Mac to run it. You will need a Mac to package it for release.

You must have iTunes installed in order to package and deploy your iOS projects to your device on Windows.

https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Platforms/iOS/QuickStart/1/index.html

hi romfeo,

I had read through the documentation you shared before I posted this thread.

Ok, now with some friends help, I manage to Launch the game into an iPad.

But I still unable to create a package from my windows machine.

You mentioned, I will need a Mac to package it for release, does that mean I have to copy the project files into a Mac and create a package from there ?
or to setup the remote sync ?

Thank you.

To be honest, I haven’t tried it myself, but the documentation says that you can package an iOS app on Windows: https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Platforms/iOS/QuickStart/8/index.html

The caveat is:

"Currently, if you are using the launcher version of Unreal Engine, you can only deploy from Windows to iOS for Blueprints-based projects. "