Custom shaders for mesh rendering?

Hello,

Obligatory - UE4 newbie here - So pardon me if I do not know things.

I am looking at writing custom shaders to load (static) meshes in the scene (Basically load index buffer and vertex data in). Similar to gltf files.

As I am doing my research, I understand that there are Global Shaders (mostly 1 per scenes and used for things like post process etc) and Material Shaders (Which can have applied to various objects in the scenes) - So I guess I should be looking more in to writing Materials shaders. (vertex and pixel shaders here)

So I read the following tutorials/links I could find :

I have some questions :

1. Should I be implementing it as a plugin or local module? I assume in UE4 plugins systems there is not much of a difference(?)
  2. To start off with I am looking to load a simple triangle or cube 3d model into the scene with my custom shaders - I found this blog post (Yet another blog...: Adding Global shaders to UE4 v2.0) but I havnt manged to get far ahead. Does any one know of any resource /sample/tutorial doing the same? It is a pretty basic use case so I guess there should be some tutorials but I havnt any yet.
  3. I found this GitHub - sp0lsh/UE4ShaderPluginDemo: A tutorial project that shows how to implement HLSL Pixel and Com - But I am still looking through it to understand and extent it to load a simple model . Any pointers would be appreciated.

Do I understand it correct (on a broader level) or I am missing something here?

Thanks!

Hey @amitahire thanks for sharing your thoughts.

As far as I understood you, there are two parts to your questions:

1. Loading and handling custom mesh data.
  2. Developing, including and using custom shader code.

Considerations on 1.: