Custom Music Player

Hi, I’m a newbie and I want to implement a music player using UE4.
I think this can be a simple and useful exercise before starting with bigger projects.

All I need is to load, play, stop audio files chosen by the user.
Let’s assume music can be in ogg files.

How can I do so?
Is there any tutorial about that or just someone who already tried to do this?

Thank you

Unless I’m mistaken, there hasn’t really been anything like this before or a tutorial to follow. In terms of how audio files are normally incorporated into the engine, they’re imported from .wav files in the editor to create USoundWaves and generally are known about before a ‘game’ runs. Raw wave files are used so that data can be re-compressed for different platforms from the highest quality source.

We do use ogg compression for sounds played in most formats at the moment though so it’s possible that you could load .ogg files directly but there isn’t currently support for it. You could look at the existing import file process to get some hints, which is in Factory.cpp and EditorFactories.cpp. Specifically FFileHelper::LoadFileToArray is used to load a file from disk into an array of bytes, which could then be decompressed into raw PCM data using a FVorbisAudioInfo class. If you’re looking to play sounds on the fly as a game runs without specifically creating assets for them, you might be able to create a temporary USoundWave for playback and just drop the .ogg file contents into the CompressedFormatData FFormatContainer the SoundWave has. That way you could potentially avoid the conversion from ogg to .wav to ogg and back again, while also only decompressing the chunk of ogg data needed to play next if memory is going to be a concern.

Let me know if any of this doesn’t make sense or if I’m going off on a completely different tangent from what you’re trying to create.

Thank you, this is more or less what I needed.

The next step is… trying to do that. :slight_smile: