Custom HLSL tips

I’m not that experienced with shader development but needed to get an external shader working in UE4, without using a custom build of the engine. After banging my head against the wall for a few days, I got it all working. I’m posting a few things that helped me in case they will help someone else out - feel free to add more! The idea is that, using a pre-built version of the Engine, you can use a Custom node in the Material Editor and have it run custom and non-trivial HLSL code (normally a Custom node is useful only for single functions and short expressions). There are probably cases in which you still need to do a build of the engine, and I definitely recommend using the Material Editor and Material Functions when possible, but in cases where you just really need to run some shader code, this can be the way to go.

1. First, a big shout out to Büke for this post. That post explains how to have multiple functions inside a single Custom node in the material editor, as well as how to load code from an external text file instead of having it all in the Custom node - both of these together make it possible to iterate on shader development. Everything else in this post is minor by comparison, so thank you Büke!

2. In newer UE4 (I’m using 4.18 but I think it was added in 4.17) you can have per-plugin and per-project directories. For example, in my project I have:

myprj\myprj.uproject
myprj\Content
myprj\Shaders\myshader.ush

and then in my material I have a custom node with this:

#include "/Project/myshader.ush"
return 0;

If you create the directories while UE4 is running, you need to restart the editor before they get picked up - on editor startup you’ll see some log messages about the mapping of virtual shader directories (e.g. from ‘/Project/’ to the full path on disk).

1. Editing the shader file outside of UE4 is of course a much better dev experience. Also, if you’re just tweaking the shader code iteratively, your cycle can go like this: