Download

curved bridge

Hi,

Let me preface this by saying I’m very new at this and I’m sure I’m doing this in a very inefficient manner.

I want to create a curved stone bridge. So what I’ve done so far is create a cylinder, stretch it out, and then create a copy of it and put it slightly below it in subrative form to hollow it out. This seems to “kind” of work, but then I wanted to put some railings on it. And I really started to get in trouble. I would be fine with a solid rock railing on it. I thought maybe I could create copies on the sides, but then my subtractive layer doesn’t seem to work on them.

Am I going in the right direction? I also tried to do this a bit in Maya, but that didn’t seem to work well at all.

Thanks,

You need to model things like that in your 3D program, like Maya. If you’re having trouble there then you should look into 3D modeling tutorials.

Well, I kind of got it figured out by now. I made subtractive sections for the left and right railing as well. I am watching some tutorials for 3d modeling in maya, but it’s very slow going. I’m sure I will get it eventually.

Ok, I’m making some progress (kind of) in 3D max and getting a curved bridge in. However, whenever I apply a material it looks all funny. I’m assuming there is something I need to do with the scale? I’m setting 3D max to centimeters when I export.

First off, kudos for diving in and learning this stuff! You may want to look into UV mapping - if you don’t create a UV map for your model it will look funky when you texture it. There should be some good tutorials on it for studio max on youtube. Good luck!