Cryengine 3 vs unreal engine 4.

I am a beginner end i want make a free game.I like c++ that the programming language of both engines.The question is:for a beginner,which one is better?If i buy the unreal engine 4 there is the risk that I abandon all for too complicated things?

Try them both.

In my personal opinion, cryengine is more for a seasoned team or small group, whereas ue4 is for anyone, a team, a person, small group. Cryengine has a lot of power, imo to use it properly you need a team of people that can work on specific things themselves like C++, art, Although, I haven’t worked with cryengine in almost an entire year so things could have changed.

Ue4 is the best engine at the moment, imho. There is no other like it. Amazingly powerfully .

I have not tried Cryengine myself, but I’ve seen many opinions on it being considerably more difficult than UE4.

CryEngine is way more difficult than UE4 indeed. However like said above, Try them both if you want to get into it more seriously.

I tried cryengine ages ago and found it quite difficult to use(especially as a beginner) but I found UDK and after 10 mins of playing with UDk I deleted cryengine, if it was UE4 instead of UDK cryengine would have been deleted after 30 secs.

as others have said you should try both and find the one that’s best for you.

also if you get stuck or find something difficult to do in UE4 there is always the community to help you out, UE4 has the best forum and support:D

I personally found the cryengine really hard to learn and as did it, I jumped right to UDK and now to the UE4, because in my opinion the interface is great, blueprints and a really community! :slight_smile:

I think that i will buy the unreal engine 4.

Forget CryEngine, and go with UE4.