Cross Hatching Shader

Disclaimer: I’m a total newbie when it comes to shaders, materials in the Unreal engine, so please forgive misunderstandings/errors.

I am trying to create a cross hatching shader effect based on light as seen in this example:

Now I know the process should be something like this in UDK:

But Unreal Engine 4 does not seem to have the CUSTOM lighting nodes on materials so now I am stuck again.

I read somewhere that I should do it in Post processing, but as I am a total noob… i cant even figure out how that would work. If anyone feels like helping a beginner i would totally appreciate it.

In UE4 You have no access to LightVector inside Material that are not Lights.
I’ll try to experiment with it, there should be some hack (better than pointing to light actors).

Hey, I’m also trying to do the same thing. What I’ve tried so far is getting the light vector manually from the primary light actor as a vector parameter… but this approach will require you to manually manage the light vector, which could be a pain depending on your scene. Another way is to try to compare the differences between the SceneTexture:BaseColor and SceneTexture:SceneColor in your post-process material, and try to derive the light intensity from there… This can give good result, but if your BaseColor is already fairly dark, it’ll be difficult to tell how much it has been darken…

If anyone has a better idea, please let share your thoughts.

Yep. I’ve tested on post process and it seems work. But. Since there is Exposure control feature it could be problematic without normalization.
And there is also some weird ghosting glitch appeared. -_-

Hey thanks :slight_smile: that seems like an idea to start with. I am mostly using paper as a base colour, so pretty light (mostly white), so most of my shadows will be hatch shaded i guess.