Creating Foliage

Hello!

So I am fairly new to Unreal Engine 4, and aside from a free foliage starter kit that I found on the forums somewhere, I don’t have any way to get my scene looking good with foliage. I was hoping to get some advice on how to start building up my foliage library, so that I can start making some cool outdoor scenes. Thanks in advance!

Unless yo dont want to model them leaf by leaf, branch by branch, you should look into software like speedtree, etc.
Or buy some ready made asset packs.

Hi Ethandale,

Research the biome/flora of your intended location. Even if it’s an imaginary place - it has a specific set of conditions that promotes or inhibits species growing there and how they are distributed.

Sorry for getting back to you so late, but this is my plan. I am a college student with no extra cash to spare, so modeling them individually would probably be my best bet. Any tips on where I should begin with that, aside from playing in 3DS Max/ZBrush?

@Ethandale Give blender a go. It is a really powerful modelling program. It’s also very good for animation as well as having awesome sculpting tools.

I used to use 3ds max, but then I pulled the arrow from me knee…

The polycount wiki for foliage has some good starter tutorials which explains a lot of different techniques. As with all 3D, you get back what you put in, there aren’t many shortcuts with foliage.

d664d9467970058a52d0b2e0128ce5b3f1a9f575.jpeg

Depending on your art style, go take some photos of leaves/flowers on blank backgrounds, or paint them yourself - and import them into your 3D software. Cut the leaves out, I use the multi-cut tool in Maya, aim to keep a good balance between polygons, and as least alpha showing as possible (the part of the geometry that’s rendered see-through).