Download

Creating a carbon fiber shader?

Hi all

I’m sure this is a simple answer. Basically I want to create a latered carbon fiber shader. One shader being a normal mapped carbon fiber. The second being a gloss coat with NO normal map. I want to blend the two with a lerp using Fresnel.

Im very new to unreal but I think I have two routes.

A clear coat shader. My issue here being how to have a normal map for one layer and no normal map for the other?

Second route is a layered shared, however I am having issues here also.

Attached is a screen shot of my layered shader.

shader.JPG

Any help on this would be hugely appreciated.

Many thanks Will.

This actually requires a code change. Current clearcoat only has ONE normal map. You could fake the bottom one by just using a manual cubemap but it will not respond to lighting changes or shadowing or dynamic lights with that method.

To get accurate lighting from both layers you need to add a new input into the Gbuffer to get the second normal map and modify some shading model code.

I actually have this working in a local build and talked a bit about it in this thread:
https://forums.unrealengine.com/showthread.php?4107-Interesting-post-from-AnswerHub-on-how-to-setup-a-Layer-Car-Paint-shader&p=393800&viewfull=1#post393800

There is a decent chance that this feature will be integrated next year sometime around Jan/Feb (it is shelved and needs code review by a dedicated rendering engineer). If you don’t want to wait I suppose I could post the necessary code.

You’ll need to use this method.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lV-Ql1zqMCM

This isn’t for Tesla Motors is it?

Hi both

Firstly thank you very much for your replies. Its a great help and gives me a starting route. Its also goodto see this may be introduced as standard in a later version of unreal.