Create transparent material that casts shadows

Hi everyone.

I want to create a wire mesh security glass for an architectural interior

I am guessing that i need a 6 sided ‘solid’ (pane of glass) object from 3ds to enable some refraction.

My problem is how to get the wire inside the glass so it can be both visible and to cast shadows.

I have achieved this before by creating a model of wire mesh in 3ds max and placing it just behind
a transparent object (my glass)…

…but this means creating 200 objects for each piece of glass which i am guessing is too heavy.

Is there a simpler way to do this with a material instead of modelling the wire?

Im new to unreal so please forgive any lack of knowledge or ignorance.

Thanks in advance

Personally i wouldn’t create this with a complex mesh, i would realize this look by a material. I think Substnace Designer is the right tool for something like that.
I’m not sure but i think someone on polycount posted a material like this, glass with wire… I will try to find the thread…

Otherwise download the demo of Subsnace Designer and simply ask in ther forums “https://forum.allegorithmic.com/” i’m for 100% sure, they can and will help you.

Thanks man, thats great. I downloaded SD. Im going to try to use it now.
I checked polycount for glass with wire but cant find anything. if you remember, let me know…
I will be very happy! Thanks again

You can always use your model as instanced static meshes so that it’s not 200 or whatever the amount, its only 1 and every other one is just a instance.

You could just have a masked material of the wire that casts shadows but is set to hidden so it does not render, and then put the same wire texture into your translucent material so you are only rendering 1 glass material in the scene.

If you need dynamic shadows you could use the ‘cast hidden shadow’ option, otherwise it will be picked up by lightmass without that.

Hi Saxon.

That is good that you pointed this out to me thanks.